Terengganu women smash 4x100m record

Portal Rasmi Sukma XVII Perlis 2014.

Terengganu women smash 4x100m record

KANGAR (31 May 2014) – National discus thrower Mohd Irfan Shamshuddin stole the limelight on the third day of the athletics competition at the Tuanku Syed Putra Stadium, Kangar with a new national record of 54.26m.

He rewrote his own mark of 53.16m which he set at last year’s SEA Games in Myanmar when he won the gold medal. In the process, Irfan rewrote Sukma’s eight-year-old record of 45.89, set by Mohd Hasrolnizam Yakob of Selangor in 2006 in Kedah.

Terengganu smashed the women’s 4x100m relay record, taking the gold in a new record time of 46.45s.

Their winning time today under scorching heat saw the Terengganu quartet of Azreen Nabila, Siti Nur Afiqah, Nur Farahana Nur Shahira rewrite Sabah’s record of 47.84s set in 2008.

Penang, powered by the Zulkifli twins, 100m gold medallist Zaidatul Husniah and bronze medallist Zaidatul Husna, could only win the silver medal in 47.46s. The others in the Penang team were Nor Shatirah and M. Thanalasiumy.

Perak (SS Sharmila, N. Eewan Syafiqah, Kang Woan Yi, Tan Seow) took the bronze in 47.63.

Terengganu completed a double in the 4x100m when their men held off a determined Sabah to clinch the gold with a time of 41.20s – ahead of the East Malaysians who clocked 41.24s. Melaka took the bronze (41.37s).

Fourteen-year-old Grace Wong of Sarawak surprised everyone with a new Sukma record of 55.82m to win the women’s hammer gold.

The women’s 400m hurldes final saw Perak’s Saidatul Izatti clinch the gold in 62.70s while Terengganu’s Layalia Rameli (63.46s) and Tham Yi Yin (65.55s) coming in second and third respectively.

Sarawak won the women’s 800m gold when Faradillah Raznie overcame heat and humidity better than her rivals to romp home in 2:18.99s. The silver went to Nik Norzilawatie Nik Wil and the bronze to Norhazilah Mungkit of Kelantan and Sabah respectively.

The men’s 800m went Perak’s way with V. R. Jeeventhiran clinching the gold in 1:56.72. Kedah’s Tan Wei Heng came in second in 1:57.24, and S. Sivashankaran third (1:57.77).

It was a battle of two Firdaus in the men’s 400m hurdles Perak’s Muhammad Firdaus Musa coming out tops for the gold with a time of 52.40s while Muhamad Firdaus Mazalan of Kedah getting the silver (52.67s). Kelantan’s Mohamed Bahaqi took the bronze.

Pahang’s S. Saranraj won the men’s 5,000me gold in 16:13.77 with S. Christopher of Penang taking the silver (16:25.48) and Johor’s M. Vinoth (16:39.64) the bronze.

The women’s pole vault saw Perak’s Chuah Yu Tian clear 3.40m for the gold. Puteri Nur Adillah of Negeri Sembilan won the silver with a height of 3.20m. The bronze went to Valerie Tan of Melaka.

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top