Perak’s G. Aravintheran pulled off a surprise in the men’s 200m final

Portal Rasmi Sukma XVII Perlis 2014.

Terengganu women shatter 24-year-old Games record in 4x400m

KANGAR (1 Jun 2014) – Terengganu women proved to be as hot as the searing afternoon heat at the Tuanku Syed Putra Stadium in Kangar – as they shattered a long-standing 24-year-old record in winning the 4x400m gold with a time of 3:49.45 – bringing to end the old record of 3:52.42s set by Penang in Kuching in 1990.

The Terengganu quartet powered by 400m winner Siti Nur Afiqah blazed the track with such dominance that they left Perak trailing a distant second to take the silver in 3:56.86. Johor were timed at 3:58.32 for the bronze medal.

The others in the Terengganu quartet were Azreen Nabila, Nur Farahana and Nur Shahira. However, it was the opposite for the Terengganu men as they ended without a medal in the men’s 4x400m – finishing in fourth place (3:19.90) behind winners Kedah (Mohd Ikmal, Mohd Shahmi Faizal, Mohd Syafiq, Syazwan Syafik) who clocked 3:15.57.

Perak again ended up playing second fiddle after returning a time of 3:17.13 for the silver and Sabah clinched the bronze (3:19.26). Perak’s G. Aravintheran pulled off a surprise in the men’s 200m final – snatching the gold from favourite Harith Ammar of Terengganu with a final push clocking 21.65s to Harith’s 21.68s. Sarawak’s Jonathan Nyepa took the bronze in 21.91s.

Harith had retained his 100m sprint gold and was hotly tipped to clinch a double. The 200m seems to be a bane to Harith who finished a poor fifth at the last Sukma in Pahang in 2012.

However, it was the opposite for Penang’s Zulkifli twins – Zaidatul Husniah and her sister Zaidatul Husna – taking the gold and bronze respectively. Just like in Pahang, Zaidatul completed a double and her time of 24.55s was enough to give her the second gold.

Perak’s Kang Woan Yi (25.19s) and Husna (25.23) settled for the silver and bronze respectively. Muhd Amal Aiman clocked 14.58s to win the men;s 110m hurdles while Selangor’s Muhammad Hafiz returned 14.92s for his silver. Johor’s Mohd Ammar Zakuan (15.18s) won the bronze.

Melaka tasted gold in the women’s 100m hurdles through Ku Munirah who came out tops in 14.61s, edging Johor’s Aini Nurazira (14.71s) to the silver and Wilayah Persekutuan’s Nur Amanina (14.79s) to the bronze.

Pahang’s S. Saranraj, winner of the 3,000m steeplechase, added the men’s 1,500m to his gold collection. His golden effort was timed at 4:03.58. Kedah’s Tan Wei Heng (4:04.35) settled for the silver and Penang’s S. Dekeeshgaaren won the bronze.

The other gold medallists were R. Eswaran (N.Sembilan) in the men’s 20,000m walk, Goh Wei Kiang (Johor) in the men’s shot put, R. Kirthana of Perak (women’s long jump), Muhammad Ashraf Abu of Johor (men’s javelin).

Perak ended the athletics competition with 6 golds, 6 silvers and 6 bronze medals. Johor finished second with a 5-8-4 tally and Terengganu third with 5-4-0.

Scroll to Top