BERNAMA – Senior Lecturer Bags OCM Women And Sports Award

BERNAMA – Senior Lecturer Bags OCM Women And Sports Award.

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 13 (Bernama) — Kalaivalli R. Ratnam, senior lecturer at the Teachers Educational Institutes (IPG), Lembah Pantai campus, is the winner of this year’s Olympic Council of Malaysia’s (OCM) Women and Sports Award.

The selection of the life member and Technical Advisor of the Malaysian Masters Athletic Association (MMAA) was made in recognition of her tremendous sacrifices and significant achievements and contributions in the promotion and development of women in sports in the country for three decades.

Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin was also present at the OCM Women and Sports Awards 2014, which was held in conjunction with the OCM Annual Dinner at Wisma OCM here tonight. OCM president Tan Sri Tengku Imran Tuanku Ja’afar gave away the awards.

Among the achievements by Kalaivalli who was recently elected Malaysia’s Women’s Representative on the Asian Masters Athletics Association are guiding many athletes to success at the State and National schools (MSSM) levels.

She has also organised and managed numerous women and sport events and activities since 2004 and has given many talks and presentations nationwide in relation to health and fitness for women in sports.

Lim Yit Bin, 1971 SEAP Games (now known as the SEA Games) bronze medallist, bagged the OCM Women and Sport Grassroots Development Award for her tremendous sacrifices and unfailing commitment to the promotion and development of women in swimming at the grassroots level, especially at schools and clubs in Penang and at national schools level.

Former national javelin ace, Norsham Yoon clinched the OCM Women and Para Sport Special Award for her achievements as a female technical official (athletics coach and technical official) at the national and international level for para sports.

Norsham who has achieved numerous successes at international competitions, including winning gold at several SEA Games in the past, has also coached athletics at national, junior and state levels since 2006 as well as para athletes in para sports up to national level since 2009.

The parents of national squash players Delia and Rachael Arnold; Raymond Silvester Arnold and Sheryl Wong Pui Lan, received the OCM Women and Sport Partnership award for their tremendous sacrifices and unfailing commitment in supporting their daughters’ involvement in squash.

At the ceremony, 19 individuals including seven former journalists were inducted into OCM’s Hall of Fame to recognise their outstanding contribution to the Malaysian sports.

The OCM Women and Sports Awards is held annually to give recognition to individuals who have contributed significantly, outstandingly and positively to the promotion, development and advancement of women in any sport and or any sport-related activities in Malaysia.



OCM Women and Sport Award: Kalaivalli R. Ratnam

OCM Women and Sport Grassroots Development Award: Lim Yit Bin

OCM Women and Para Sports Special Award: Norsham Yoon

OCM Partnership Award: Raymond Silvester Arnold and Sheryl Wong Pui Lan

2014 OCM Hall Of Fame Inductees:


Retired National Athletes:

The late Chua Eng Cheng (Hockey and Cricket)

The late A. Shanmuganathan, V. Angamah and Rajemah Sheikh Ahmad (Athletics)

C. Paramalingam (Hockey)

Gurucharan Singh and Banerji Nair (Cricket)

Outstanding Sports Officials:

The late Datuk Dr Aziz Durairatnam (Hockey and OCM)

Tun Ahmad Sarji Abdul Hamid – Lawn Bowls

Datuk M. Karathu (Football)

Datuk Kamalul Ariffin Abdul Rahim (National Sports Council, Hockey and Rugby)

Datuk Clement Soo (Karate)

Outstanding Sports Journalists:

The late Norman Siebel (former Sports Editor of the Straits Times and the New Straits Times)

The late Mansor Rahman (former Sports Editor of the New Straits Times)

The late Zainuddin Bendahara (former Sports Editor of Berita Harian and President of Sportswriters Association of Malaysia)

The late Francis Emanuel (Sports Journalist of Malay Mail)

Ian Pereira (Senior Sports Journalist and still writing for Malay Mail)

Datuk Rahim Razali (Radio and Television Sports Commentator)

Amran Hamid (Radio and Television Sports Commentator of RTM)


Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top