BERNAMA – Karim Ibrahim Is New MAU President

BERNAMA – Karim Ibrahim Is New MAU President.

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 1 (Bernama) — Former Malaysian Athletic Union (MAU) Deputy President Datuk Karim Ibrahim swept aside his challenger Datuk Wan Hisham Wan Salleh to win the President’s post for the 2014-2016 term.

Karim polled 33 votes while Wan Hisham, the incumbent deputy president of MAU received 8 votes during the election for office bearers that was held at the National Sports Council’s Dewan Komanwel, here today.

Karim, the Perak Amateur Athletic Association president had held the post of MAU deputy president for 10 years, the last term being from 2010 to 2012.

“The development of athletics must continue, election is just part and parcel in any association. The focus must be to produce athletes with calibre to revive the glory days of athletics,” he told reporters, here today.

“The new office bearers will continue the programmes that were initiated by the previous president and his men. We will also strengthen the relationship and cooperation with the NSC and the Ministry of Youth and Sports.”

The meeting was momentarily abuzz with news that former President and now Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim was said to be interested in contesting for the post of president but he withdrew at the last minute.

Meanwhile, the MAU Annual General Meeting which started at 10am, also saw a keen battle for the post of Deputy President between Pahang AAA secretary Datuk R. Annamalai and Selangor AAA President Datuk S.M Muthu.

Muthu, received 26 votes while Annamalai managed 15 votes.

In the race for four vice presidents, Datuk Noorul Ariffin Abd Majeed, Datuk Rosni Sohar, M. Iyaru and Datuk Tham Siew Kai beat six other candidates.

2014-2016 Office bearers:


President : Datuk Karim Ibrahim

Deputy President: Datuk S.M Muthu

Vice presidents: Datuk Noorul Ariffin Abd Majeed, Datuk Rosni Sohar, M. Iyaru, Datuk Tham Siew Kai.


Scroll to Top